The Alt Idol Podcast Ep. 31: Three Is The Magic Number

Only a two week gap this time, looks like things are starting to pick up in the old idol world again. Listen to us jabber on about idol type things, if that is something you like doing….

In the news this week:

  • sora tob sakana sign with a major label.
  • Aina and Chittiii guest on a Marty Friedman song.
  • AQBI debut new group Gu-Gu LULU.
  • Dates for NECRONOMIDOL’s European tour are announced.
  • BiSH to contribute a song to the Sailor Moon 25th anniversary album.
  • WOWOW Prime to broadcast BABYMETAL’s LEGEND S performance.
  • Gokigen Teikoku announce 3 new singles, 3 3-man lives and a one-man live tour at their 3rd one-man live.
  • The finalists for the new Gokigen Teikoku produced group are revealed.
  • SPARK SPEAKER to release new album “Meaning of Life” on April 11th.
  • Aina the End collaborated with MONDO GROSSO on upcoming album “Attune / Detune” releasing March 21st.
  • uijin to release new mini-album “everything is practice” on April 18th.
  • Kaqriyo Terror Architect preview new song “Makafushigi Zumu”.
  • Wagamama Rakia preview new song “cry pot”.
  • CHICKEN BLOW THE IDOL preview new song “Ichibandori”.
  • Bonnou Paradox preview new song “Yotsu Uchi”.
  • There There Theres perform upcoming song “SOIL” live.

We also share our thoughts on MVs from GANG PARADE, Candye♡Syrup and MIGMA SHELTER.

We are also available on Stitcher, Pocket Cast, Google Play Music and iTunes.

Multiple audio formats available of all our podcasts at

The Alt Idol Podcast Ep. 28: Never Mind The Box Set

Anyone having a rough time after last night? Sit back, relax and have yourself a nice ong listen to this weeks podcast. Garry, Terry and John have a bit of a chat about all the alt idol stuff that has happened since the last one. There were a couple really interesting bits.

In the news this week:

  • Kaneko Rie debuts her new solo project trolleattroll.
  • Former Guso Drop member Waka also announces a new solo project.
  • Ogura Karin announces her graduation from There There Theres.
  • Mistress are back in the recording studio.
  • Former Checkmate member Emiri joins Wonder Weed.
  • Gokigen Teikoku announce that they’re recruiting members for a new group.
  • The results of the WACK election are announced.
  • Candye♡Syrup announce a new mini-album.
  • JyuJyu also announce a new mini-album.
  • Gokigen Teikoku announce the DVD release of their 2nd one-man live.
  • CY8ER announce the release of their debut album.
  • BABYMETAL announce another overpriced Blu-Ray box set.
  • PassCode announce the release of their first photobook.
  • Sora Tob Sakana preview their new song “Eikaku na Nichijou”.
  • BURST GIRL tease rehearsal footage of a new song.
  • CHICKEN BLOW THE IDOL also tease a new song that they are rehearsing.
  • Candye♡Syrup preview “Sweet Suicide” from their upcoming mini-album

We also share our thoughts on MVs from You’ll Melt More!, Himekyun Fruit Can, PiGU, CY8ER, Panda Mic and trolleattroll.

We are also available on Stitcher, Pocket Cast, Google Play Music and iTunes.

Multiple audio formats available of all our podcasts at

The Alt Idol Podcast Ep. 23: The Father The Son and The Holy Sex

Hey you all, we have a podcast this week. Things…… Stuff…… Excitement.

Anyway, I couldn’t think of anything to say, but we covered a lot of stuff and I am tired, so here it is.

In the news this week:

  • Living Dead I Dolls suffer a mass exodus of members.
  • BiSH perform at the 2017 VMAJ.
  • EMPiRE finally reveal their faces.
  • Bonnou Paradox lose 2 members.
  • Kuromiya Rei from LADYBABY is going on hiatus.
  • NECRONOMIDOL suffer a slight hitch, also announce a brand new single.
  • BiS make a bunch of announcements at their BAD SOCiAL TOUR FiNAL.
  • PassCode’s “bite the bullet” features as the theme song for a television drama.
  • Kaqriyo Terror Architect release their first single, immediately announce their second.
  • SPARK SPEAKER announce details of their first album.
  • Does It Escape Again team up with Uijin for a split release.
  • Uijin also announce details of their upcoming double single release.
  • EMPiRE preview new song “EMPiRE is COMiNG”.
  • Watanabe Junnosuke and Pour Lui release a duet.

We also share our thoughts on MVs from Candye♡Syrup, NECRONOMIDOL, Zenbu Kimi no Sei da, Does It Escape Again X Uijin, SAiNT SEX and Kaqriyo Terror Architect.

We are also available on Stitcher, Pocket Cast, Google Play Music and iTunes.

Multiple audio formats available of all our podcasts at

Candye♡Syrup – 「IDOL OF DEATH」 feat. m!sa (MV)

I remember when Candye♡Syrup let this one slip a while ago. It was a pretty sweet jam. Just the right mix of a hammering beat, driving guitars, clean and harsh vocals. Now we know who was doing the second harsh vocal part, it was m!sa (ALL IN VAIN, ex.「Story of Hope」).

It is just a snappy little tune, I really dig it.

Candye♡Syrup – 「IDOL OF DEATH」 feat. m!sa

Official Website:

Alt Idol Top 10s – Best Breakdowns

OK, so when we don’t have enough for a podcast you will probably be getting one of our Top 10 lists. This week is for all you fans of the heaviness, of course we could not fit all the awesome breakdowns in, but we tried to pick the cream of the crop.

Just remember, this list is not all inclusive and is not in any particular order. If you like anything you heard there are links to buy that stuff in the video description. We want to make it easy for you to buy all the good stuff.

The Alt Idol Podcast Ep. 20: EMPiRE STRiKES BACK

Garry, Terry and John have somehow manage to not only put together 20 of these things, but to also get 200 subscribers on the old YouTube channel. As a big old thank you we had a good old giveaway and the winners were announced on this show.

In the news this week:

  • BILLIE IDLE surprise us with a new album and tour…possibly their last?
  • YAMIAME surprise us with a break-up.
  • The AVEX and WACK collaboration group we’ve been waiting for is finally announced.
  • BiSH announce a new album and a tour.
  • We give our thoughts on the upcoming NECRONOMIDOL single “DAWNSLAYER”.
  • You’ll Melt More announce a new single.
  • Cure。 give us details of their upcoming album.
  • Zenbu Kimi no Sei da preview new song “Monologue Garden”.
  • Candye♡Syrup preview new song “SCREAMING CRAZY WORLD”.
  • LADYBABY preview new song “Pinky! Pinky!”.

We also share our thoughts on MVs from Senanan, 969, Nemoto Nagi and mistress.

We are now available on Stitcher, Pocket Cast, Google Play Music and iTunes.

Multiple audio formats available of all our podcasts at

Candye♡Syrup: On A Soundcloud Rampage

New kids to the scene, Candye♡Syrup, are not holding anything back when it comes to letting us have material to listen to. Today they released a new track and karaoke versions all of their previously released track on their Soundcloud account. So if you are a fan of this group get over there and have a listening party, hell call your friends over so they get a listen as well. We don’t want you going solo on this one. All tracks after the break.

Continue reading